CSSHL AGM wraps up in Winnipeg

The Canadian Sport School Hockey League (CSSHL) concluded its Annual General Meeting (AGM) this afternoon after three days of meetings and scheduling in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

Highlights from the three-day event include:

Hockey Canada’s Pat McLaughlin (Vice President, Operations) and Pier-Alexandre Poulin (Manager, Member Engagement), as well as Hockey Manitoba’s Peter Woods (Executive Director) were all in attendance.

Eastern Members
The CSSHL welcomed CIH Academy, The Hill Academy, Newbridge Academy, Okanagan Hockey Ontario and Ontario Hockey Academy. Two new Eastern programs were approved by the Board of Governors to begin play and will be announced later this week.

Full Members
The Board of Governors voted unanimously to grant the Prairie Hockey Academy full membership status.

Executive Committee
The Executive Committee expanded to six positions with the introduction of a new Eastern Governor at Large, which will be filled by Olivier Filion (Newbridge Academy). Maco Balkovec (BWC Academy) was re-elected as Vice-Chairperson, while Chris Chisamore was elected as Secretary. Andy Oakes (Chairperson / Okanagan Hockey Academy), Scott May (Western Governor at Large / Delta Hockey Academy) and Ryan Cyr (Treasurer / Rink Hockey Academy) were not up for re-election.

Three Point Games
The CSSHL will go to a three-point system for the 2019-20 regular season and 2020 BDO CSSHL Championships. A regulation victory will be worth three points, an overtime or shootout victory will be worth two points, while an overtime or shootout defeat will be worth one point.

Showcase dates and locations, as well as flex game dates and locations were finalized on Monday. The full 2019-20 CSSHL schedule will be released in the coming weeks.