Executive Operations Committee

Chair: Andy Oakes






Andy is currently the President of Okanagan Hockey Group Inc. (OHG). Under his leadership, OHG has expanded operations into Europe, United Kingdom and Eastern Canada.   In 2002, Okanagan Hockey Academy was the first hockey sport school recognized by BC Hockey.

As a leader in the industry, Andy has been instrumental in working with hockey governing bodies to establish Accredited Schools in Canada.  He is a member of the Hockey Canada’s Sports School Committee, which has been working together since 2007 to establish Hockey Canada Accredited Schools.  Andy was elected as the Chair of the BC Hockey Schools Committee from 2014 to 2018.  He was a BCHL Executive Committee member for five years and was awarded BCHL Executive of the Year for two consecutive years, 2009 and 2010.

Andy is a founding member of the Canadian Sport School Hockey League (CSSHL).  Andy has held multiple positions on the Executive Operations Committee since the leagues inception, including Vice-Chairperson (2012-2013) and Chairperson (2011-12 and 2013 – present).

Andy’s passion is hockey.  Not only does he work daily in this field, he gives back to his community by volunteering as a coach with Penticton Minor Hockey Association.

Vice-Chair: Jason Kerswill

Jason is the Director of Athletics and Programming at Edge School, in Calgary, Alberta overseeing all aspects of the sport program at one of Canada’s leading sport-focused independent schools. He has served on the CSSHL Board of Governors and Executive Operating Committee since 2021 bringing over 20 years of sport administration and leadership experience to the role.
Prior to returning to Edge School, where he also worked from 2005-2010, Jason held various roles in post-secondary athletics and recreation, including the Director of Athletics at the University of Calgary and the Manager of Athletics at Seneca College in Toronto. Jason also has extensive governance experience highlighted by time as the President of the Ontario Colleges Athletic Association, Director at Large (Canada West Universities Athletic Association) and most recently as the President of the Alberta Basketball Association.

Committee Member: Andre Savage






With extensive experience in the NHL, AHL, NCAA, Germany and Sweden, Andre brings a wealth of practical knowledge to the CIH Academy coaching staff. Andre joined CIHA in 2012 and is currently the Hockey Director and Head Coach for the Voyageurs. He brings a professional approach and demonstrates true leadership. His focus on the development and attention to detail brings out the best in the young hockey players both on and off the ice.

Committee Member: Denise Chalifoux

Committee Member: Kelly Shields

Kelly is the owner and Director of Pacific Coast Hockey Academy (PCHA) located in Langford, BC. PCHA was founded in 2013 and was the first Hockey Canada Accredited School on Vancouver Island.

Kelly attended Brandon University and Bemidji State University on a hockey scholarship and majored in Sports Management before playing 4 years professionally. He has extensive experience in coaching and management – from grassroots hockey as a head coach, skill development coach and coach mentor for a MHA, to High-performance hockey working with the BC Hockey POE U16 program as a coach and evaluator, and also as a goaltending and Assistant Coach in the BCHL.

Serving on the Board of Governors since 2014, Kelly has volunteered on numerous CSSHL committees such as the Discipline, Marketing, Competition and Scheduling committees. A strong supporter of the Hockey Canada development model and advocate of sanctioned programming, Kelly is excited to be elected to the EOC and looks forward to the opportunity.

Kelly was born and raised in Victoria, BC where he lives with his wife and two daughters. Away from the rink he enjoys being a dance Dad and spending time with his family.

Committee Member: Nathan Fischer

Nathan is the Founder and President of North Shore Warriors Hockey Academy, based in North Vancouver, BC, and Co-founder and Director of STAR Hockey Academy, based in Seattle, WA. He has been a Hockey Canada Accredited School member since 2015, having also owned and operated the West Van Warriors Hockey Academy of the CSSHL.

A strong advocate of education-based hockey, Nathan has served as CSSHL Vice-Chairman, as well as on the Competition, Scheduling, and Marketing Committees. Nathan attended the University of Alberta School of Business to attain his Bachelor of Commerce, and later completed his Master of Business Administration at the University of British Columbia.

The Trail, BC native resides in North Vancouver with his wife and three kids. Outside of the CSSHL, Nathan has additional private equity and real estate ventures, and volunteers his time coaching minor hockey and youth baseball in the community.

Committee Member: Nichole Collins

Nichole is currently the General Manager of the family owned and operated Pilot Mound Hockey Academy, and is the first female general manager within the CSSHL.  Nichole has extensive experience in human resources; leadership; business management; organizational optimization; and community sustainability that stem from both her professional career and various community volunteer commitments.