Bourget College BWC Academy CIH Academy CDA Hockey Academy Delta Hockey Academy Edge School International Hockey Academy King Heights Academy Mount Academy NAX Hockey North Shore Warriors Notre Dame Hounds Hockey Okanagan Hockey Academy OHA Edmonton Okanagan Hockey Ontario Ontario Hockey Academy Pacific Coast Hockey Academy Pilot Mound Hockey Academy Prairie Hockey Academy Rink Hockey Academy Kelowna Rink Hockey Academy Winnipeg Shawnigan Lake School South Alberta Hockey Academy St. George's School Flames St. Mary's Academy Yale Hockey Academy

32 CSSHL alums awarded WHL Scholarships

The Western Hockey League announced today that a total of 402 WHL graduate players have been awarded WHL Scholarships for the fall and winter semesters of the 2019-20 academic year.

Of the 402 WHL graduates awarded WHL Scholarships, 32 are former Canadian Sport School Hockey League student athletes.

Administered by the WHL Office, WHL Scholarships are solely funded by the WHL member Clubs. Every player who plays in the WHL is eligible to receive the WHL Scholarship. For every season a player plays in the WHL, they receive a guaranteed, full-year WHL Scholarship including tuition, textbooks and compulsory fees to a post-secondary institution of their choice. The WHL Scholarship is a fully-guaranteed academic scholarship with no requirement to play university hockey to qualify. The WHL graduate can apply the funding to any post-secondary or career-enhancing program of his choice, including trades schools or professional career training programs.

CSSHL alumni awarded WHL Scholarships for the 2019-20 academic year:

Canadian Universities, Western Canada (18)
Name – Home Town – CSSHL Program Attended

(**) Currently playing hockey in the Canada West Conference of U Sports or the Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference (ACAC) or the British Columbia Intercollegiate Hockey League (BCIHL)

University of Alberta – Edmonton, AB (3)
Josh Baker – Edmonton, AB – OHA Edmonton
Cole Sanford – Coldstream, BC – Pursuit of Excellence **
Tyler Soy – Cloverdale, BC – Okanagan Hockey Academy **

University of British Columbia -Vancouver, BC (11)
Anthony Bishop – Kelowna, BC – Pursuit of Excellence/Okanagan Hockey Academy **
Brett Clayton – Abbotsford, BC – Yale Hockey Academy **
Ralph Jarratt – Fort St. John, BC – Pursuit of Excellence
Dryden Michaud – Maple Ridge, BC – Yale Hockey Academy **
Graham Millar – Penticton, BC – Okanagan Hockey Academy
Matthew Mosher – White Rock, BC – Delta Hockey Academy
Ayrton Nikkel – Kelowna, BC – Pursuit of Excellence
Ryan Pouliot – Ottawa, ON – BWC Academy **
Jonathan Smart – Kelowna, BC – Okanagan Hockey Academy **
Jarret Tyszka – Langley, BC – Yale Hockey Academy **
Ian Walker – Vancouver, BC – BWC Academy

University of Calgary – Calgary, AB (4)
Coda Gordon – Cochrane, AB – Edge School **
Sahvan Khaira – Langley, BC – Okanagan Hockey Academy **
Jake Morrissey – Calgary, AB – Delta Hockey Academy
Brodan Salmond – Calgary, AB – Edge School **

Capilano University – Vancouver, BC (1)
Brendan Semchuck – Kamloops, BC – Okanagan Hockey Academy

Concordia University College of Alberta – Edmonton, AB (1)
Scott Allan – Thornton, CO – Banff Hockey Academy **

University of the Fraser Valley – Abbotsford, BC (1)
Liam Hughes – Kelowna, BC – Edmonton

University of Lethbridge – Lethbridge, AB (2)
Daniel Gatenby – Kelowna, BC – Okanagan Hockey Academy **
George King – Calgary, AB – Banff Hockey Academy **

Mount Royal University – Calgary, AB (4)
Liam Belcourt – Sherwood Park, AB – OHA Edmonton
Andrew Fyten – Didsbury, AB – Edge School **
Kade Jensen – Calgary, AB – Edge School **
Dominic Thom – Calgary, AB – Edge School

University of Regina – Regina, SK (1)
Keith Anderson – Hermiston, OR – CDA Hockey Academy **

University of Saskatchewan – Saskatoon, SK (1)
Wyatt Sloboshan – Vanscoy, SK – Okanagan Hockey Academy

Simon Fraser University – Burnaby, BC (2)
Jordan Dawson – Delta, BC – Delta Hockey Academy **
Colten Gerlib – Kamloops, BC – BWC Academy **

Trinity Western University – Langley, BC (1)
Brandon Potomak – Aldergrove, BC –Pursuit of Excellence **

University of Victoria – Victoria, BC (1)
Quinton Waitzner – Victoria, BC – Shawnigan Lake School

II. Canadian Universities, Eastern Canada (2)
Name – Home Town – CSSHL Program Attended

(**) Currently playing hockey in the Ontario University Athletic Conference or Atlantic University Sport Conference of U Sports

Brock University – St. Catharines, ON (1)
Matthew Campese – Prince Albert, SK – Okanagan Hockey Academy **

St. Francis Xavier University – Antigonish, NS (1)
Matthew Needham – Kamloops, BC – Okanagan Hockey Academy **

III. Canadian Colleges and other (11)
Name – Home Town – CSSHL Program Attended

(**) Currently playing hockey in the Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference (ACAC) or Ontario University Athletic Conference

British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT) – Burnaby, BC (2)
Brandon Kennedy – Tsawwassen, BC – Delta Hockey Academy
Brody Wilms – Coquitlam, BC – Okanagan Hockey Academy

Grande Prairie Regional College – Grande Prairie, AB (1)
Schael Higson – Grande Prairie, AB – Okanagan Hockey Academy

Okanagan College – Kelowna, BC (2)
Kelvin Hair – North Vancouver, BC – Okanagan Hockey Academy
Devin Oakes – Prince Rupert, BC – Pursuit of Excellence

Real Estate Council of Alberta – Calgary, AB (1)
Cal Babych – North Vancouver, BC – Okanagan Hockey Academy

Red Deer College – Red Deer, AB (1)
Parker Smyth – Red Deer, AB – Pursuit of Excellence

Royal Military College of Canada – Kingston, ON (1)
Marshall Skapski – Abbotsford, BC – International Hockey Academy **

SAIT Polytechnic – Calgary, AB (2)
Kyle Dumba – Calgary, AB – Edge School **
Brady Reagan – Calgary, AB – Okanagan Hockey Academy

SMART Fire Academy – Fort Richmond, MB (1)
Akash Bains – Delta, BC – Okanagan Hockey Academy/Delta Hockey Academy

IV. US Colleges/Universities (1)
Name – Home Town – CSSHL Program Attended

Metropolitan State University of Denver – Denver, CO (1)
Zachary Goberis – Arvada, CO – Banff Hockey Academy