2019 World Sport School Challenge announced

The Canadian Sport School Hockey League (CSSHL) today announced the dates and details for the 2019 World Sport School Challenge (WSSC), to be held February 14-17 in Vaughan, Ontario.

The four-day event will be hosted by The Hill Academy and features seven Hockey Canada Sport School programs that will have teams competing at the event:

The Hill Academy (Concord, ON), the Mount Academy (Charlottetown, PEI), Northern Alberta Xtreme (Edmonton, AB), OHA Edmonton (Edmonton, AB), Okanagan Hockey Ontario (Whitby, ON) and St. Andrew’s College (Aurora, ON) will each have one team participating, while Newbridge Academy (Dartmouth, NS) will have two teams.

“We are thrilled to have the WSSC back in Ontario after such a successful event last year,” said Kevin Goodwin, chief operating officer of the CSSHL. “There are a lot of great teams in attendance from Alberta to Prince Edward Island and we look forward to seeing some exciting education-based hockey that this event is accustomed to producing.”

The majority of games will take place at The Sports Village, with three games being played at Westwood Arenas. All games from The Sports Village will be available on HockeyTV.

The Championship Game will be Sunday, February 17 at 11:45am ET at The Sports Village.

For a full schedule, rosters and news, please visit: events.csshl.ca

The World Sport School Challenge was developed in line with Hockey Canada’s commitment to foster its growing relationship with education-based hockey and give students the chance to compete against like-minded students from all over the world.

Notable WSSC alumni include Julius Honka of the Dallas Stars, Clayton Keller of the Arizona Coyotes and Michael Rasmussen of the Detroit Red Wings. In total, 34 WSSC alumni have been selected at the NHL Draft since 2012.

Past World Sport School Challenge winners:

2017-18: Pacific Coast Hockey Academy (Victoria, BC)
2016-17: Edge School (Calgary, AB)
2015-16: Delta Hockey Academy (Delta, BC)
2014-15: St. Andrew’s College (Aurora, ON)
2013-14: Shattuck St. Mary’s (Faribault, MN)
2012-13: Shattuck St. Mary’s (Faribault, MN)
2011-12: Shattuck St. Mary’s (Faribault, MN)