10 CSSHL Alumni Help Canada West Capture Gold

Photo Credit: Hockey Canada

10 former CSSHL student-athletes helped Canada West win gold yesterday at the 2023 World Junior A Challenge.

The tournament, which took place from December 10-17, saw some of the best junior A players from Canada, the US, Sweden and Slovakia gather in Truro, NS.

Canada East (3-1-0) would finish the round robin in second, while Canada West (1-3-0) finished fourth, with both teams advancing to the semi-finals. Canada East would defeat Sweden 7-5 while Canada West beat the US 4-3 in overtime to set up an all Canada final.

With Canada East having won the round robin matchup between the two clubs 5-2, Canada West would flip the script with a 7-2 victory to capture gold.

Jack Silverberg (Okotoks Oilers/OHA Edmonton) captained the team and netminder Erick Roest (Sherwood Park Crusaders/Northern Alberta Xtreme) was named a Tournament All-Star.

The Canada West roster included the following CSSHL alumni, all 10 of which play in the Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL):

  • Rylan Brown – Okotoks Oilers/OHA Edmonton
  • Dylan Compton – Brooks Bandits/Shawnigan Lake School
  • Gavin Garland – Calgary Canucks/Calgary International Hockey Academy, Delta Hockey Academy, Edge School
  • Johnny Hicks – Brooks Bandits/Delta Hockey Academy
  • Diego Johnson – Sherwood Park Crusaders/Okanagan Hockey Academy
  • Layne Loomer – Blackfalds Bulldogs/Northern Alberta Xtreme
  • Ty Mason – Brooks Bandits/Notre Dame Hounds
  • Erick Roest – Sherwood Park Crusaders/Northern Alberta Xtreme
  • Jack Silverberg – Okotoks Oilers/OHA Edmonton
  • Brock Souch – Sherwood Park Crusaders/Northern Alberta Xtreme