CSSHL Adds Five New Member Programs

The Canadian Sport School Hockey League (CSSHL) has announced that its Governors have granted approval for five new CSSHL member programs to operate in the 2024-25 season.

Balmoral Hall School, Fort Erie International Academy, King’s-Edgehill School, Lower Canada College and Selwyn House School all were accepted into the CSSHL, bringing the league to a total of 37 member programs across Canada and the USA.

“The CSSHL is excited to add these five member programs as we continue to expand and grow our league across North America,” said CSSHL COO Kevin Goodwin. “The long-standing history of these academic institutions and their commitment to education aligns with our mission statement to be National leaders in education-based hockey.”

Located in Winnipeg, MB, Balmoral Hall School was founded in 1901 and is currently the longest standing prep hockey program in Manitoba with 18 years’ experience. Balmoral Hall will join the Female Prep division.

“Balmoral Hall School is excited to join the CSSHL for the 2024/2025 season. This transition marks a significant milestone for our program and each of our players. The CSSHL offers several advantages that closely align with our school’s goals and values, ensuring a seamless continuation of our commitment to excellence in both academics and athletics,” said Regan Boulton, Interim Director of Hockey and Head Coach.

Located in Fort Erie, ON, a border city just minutes away from Western New York, Fort Erie International Academy (FEIA) was founded in 2019 as a Private Secondary School. FEIA has appeared as a guest team in the CSSHL Eastern Division this season and will add teams to the Eastern U17 and U18 divisions.

“This is an exciting time for FEIA hockey.  We are thrilled to be part of the CSSHL as it will allow our student-athletes to continue their growth and development both on and off the ice.  This provides excellent exposure and opportunities across the Country. We look forward to working with and being part of the CSSHL,” added Freddie Coccimiglio, FEIA Boys General Manager.

King’s-Edgehill School is located in Windsor, NS, about 45 minutes from Halifax. Founded in 1788, King’s-Edgehill School is Canada’s first independent School. King’s-Edgehill School has appeared as a guest team in the CSSHL Eastern Division this season and will play in the Eastern U18 division.

“We are thrilled to be joining the CSSHL, competing in the Eastern U18 Division in 2024-25. Being a part of the CSSHL will provide our student athletes the opportunity to continue to develop and grow in Canada’s premier education-based hockey league. We look forward to working with and being a part of the CSSHL and all of its members,” said King’s-Edgehill Program Coordinator and Head Coach Zack MacQueen.

Founded in 1909, Lower Canada College (LCC) is a coed day school located in Montreal, QC. LCC will play in the Eastern U17 division next season.

“LCC is excited to join the CSSHL at the U17 level. The league shares many common values with our program and school. By joining we CSSHL, we feel that our student-athletes will maximize their development opportunities in high school hockey,” added Christian Viau, Director of Athletics.

Selwyn House School, established in 1908 and located in Westmount, QC, is an all-boys K-12 institution committed to academic excellence. Selwyn House will play in the Eastern U17 division next season.

“Gaining membership into the CSSHL further demonstrates our dedication to providing our student-athletes with opportunities to grow and graduate prepared for the next level of education and athletics. The CSSHL is a prestigious league recognized for developing and showcasing elite hockey players across Canada. At the same time, we are staying true to Selwyn House’s mission and vision by aligning with an education-based league just as focused on character development and academic pursuits as it is to excellence on the ice,” said Mike Maurovich, Director of Athletics for Selwyn House School.

The new additions brings the Eastern Division to a total of 20 teams and 13 member programs. The Female U18 Prep division will see 14 teams from 12 member programs competing in 2024/25.