14 CSSHL Alumnae, 1 Staff Member Invited to Hockey Canada Camps

Canada’s National Women’s Development Team has invited 43 athletes to participate in the BFL National Women’s Development Team Summer Camp July 29-August 9 at WinSport’s Canada Olympic Park in Calgary.

Those invited will participate in practices and intrasquad games before playing two scrimmages against Canada’s National Women’s Team.

Among the 43 athletes are 10 Canadian Sports School Hockey League alumnae. As well, Heather Corliss of Okanagan Hockey Academy has been named as a Therapist for the camp.

The 10 CSSHL alumnae invited to the National Women’s Development Team Camp include:

  • Anne Cherkowski – Pursuit of Excellence (University of Minnesota)
  • Stephanie Markowski – Pursuit of Excellence (Clarkson University)
  • Olivia Knowles – Okanagan Hockey Academy (University of Minnesota)
  • Sarah Paul – Okanagan Hockey Academy/RINK Hockey Academy Kelowna (Princeton University)
  • Amy Potomak – Pursuit of Excellence (University of Minnesota)
  • Sarah Potomak – Pursuit of Excellence (PWHPA)
  • Danielle Serdachny – Pursuit of Excellence (Colgate University)
  • Sophie Shirley – Ontario Hockey Academy (University of Wisconsin)
  • Kate Stuart – Pursuit of Excellence (Boston University)
  • Sarah Wozniewicz – Edge School (University of Wisconsin)

Four CSSHL alumnae were among the 23 NextGen athletes (born in 2003) invited to participate in the BFL National Women’s Under-18 Team Summer Development Camp, July 29-August 5 at WinSport’s Canada Olympic Park.

The 23 NextGen athletes attended Canada’s National Women’s Under-18 Team virtual summer camp last season, but were unable to participate in on-ice activities due to the pandemic. The NextGen athletes will practice and play games against both U18 camp teams.

The four CSSHL alumnae invited to participate as a NextGen athlete at the BFL National Women’s Under-18 Team Summer Development Camp include:

  • Alexis Bedier – RINK Hockey Academy Kelowna (Ohio State University)
  • Katie Chan – Delta Hockey Academy (Colgate University)
  • Grace Elliott – Delta Hockey Academy (University of Calgary)
  • Madisyn Wiebe – Delta Hockey Academy (Ohio State University)