13 CSSHL alums named to Team Canada West

Hockey Canada on Tuesday relased the roster for Team Canada West ahead of the 2019 World Junior A Challenge, which goes December 7-15 in Dawson Creek, B.C.

Just over half the 22-man roster is made up of former Canadian Sport School Hockey League student athletes, as 13 CSSHL alums have been named to the team, including five of the seven defencemen.

CSSHL alums named to the roster:


Matthew Davis, Edge School – Spruce Grove (AJHL)


Michael Benning, Northern Alberta Xtreme – Sherwood Park (AJHL)
Corson Ceulemans, OHA Edmonton – Brooks (AJHL)
Powell Connor, Pursuit of Excellence – Chilliwack Chiefs (BCHL)
Ethan Edwards, Northern Alberta Xtreme – Spruce Grove (AJHL)
Owen Murray, Rink Hockey Academy – Portage (MJHL)


Brendan Budy, Delta Hockey Academy – Langley (BCHL)
Kent Johnson, BWC Academy – Trail (BCHL)
Carter Loney, Rink Hockey Academy – Steinbach (MJHL)
Nicholas Poisson, BWC Academy – Prince George (BCHL)
Massimo Rizzo, BWC Academy – Coquitlam (BCHL)
Carter Savoie, Northern Alberta Xtreme – Sherwood Park (AJHL)
Ethan Scardina, Delta Hockey Academy – Nanaimo Clippers (BCHL)

From Dec. 7-15, the teams – Team Canada East, Team Canada West, the Czech Republic, Russia and the United States – will compete in 14 games over eight days.

PHOTO CREDIT: Hockey Canada