West Van Academy returns to the CSSHL for the 2021-22 season


The Canadian Sport School Hockey League (CSSHL) is pleased to announce that the Board of Governors has approved the return of the West Van Hockey Academy to operate within the CSSHL for the 2021-22 season after receiving their Hockey Canada Accredited School renewal from BC Hockey. 

Located in West Vancouver, BC, the West Van Academy originally joined the CSSHL in 2016. During the 2020-21 season, the Academy took an absence from the league as it found its new education partner, the North Shore Academy. The North Shore Academy offers adaptable academic programming in a trimester system. This schedule allows student athletes the ability to concentrate on fewer subjects each term, without compromising the quality of education leading to superior academic success. 

“We look forward to having the West Van program back for the 2021-22 season,” said Kevin Goodwin, Chief Operating Officer of the CSSHL. “It’s important to have a program on the North Shore of Vancouver so student athletes who reside in the area still have the opportunity to attend a Hockey Canada Accredited School. The West Van program is set up to ensure a strong life balance for all students and their families.”

As a sanctioned Hockey Canada Accredited School, the West Van Hockey Academy is a high-performance hockey development program that yields an education-first mentality. The Academy maintains the status of the only Hockey Canada Accredited School on Vancouver’s North Shore.

“We are very pleased to be returning to the CSSHL, a great league committed to education based hockey,” said West Van Founder and Director Nathan Fischer. “The focus of the West Van Academy is to provide quality hockey, academic, leadership, and personal development for our student athletes. We are excited to enhance our program with the dedicated and progressive education model that North Shore Academy offers.”  

During the 2021-22 season, the Academy will operate four teams playing across the U15, U15 Prep, U16 Prep and U18 Prep divisions.