3 CSSHL Alumnae Selected at 2024 PWHL Draft

Three former Canadian Sport School Hockey League (CSSHL) student-athletes have been selected at the 2024 Professional Women’s Hockey League (PWHL) Draft.

The 7 round draft saw 42 total players selected by the 6 PWHL teams on Monday, June 10th.

1 2 Danielle Serdachny Pursuit of Excellence Team Ottawa
4 20 Stephanie Markowski Pursuit of Excellence Team Ottawa
4 23 Dara Greig Pursuit of Excellence Team Montreal

All three former CSSHL student-athletes selected played together for Pursuit of Excellence (POE), now known as RINK Hockey Academy Kelowna, for the 2017/18 and 2018/19 seasons, capturing back-to-back- CSSHL Female U18 Prep Western Championships. Greig also spent the 2016/17 season with the POE Female U18 Prep team.

A forward from Edmonton, AB, Serdachny scored 40 goals and added 64 assists in 49 career games with POE. She would join Colgate University in 2019/20, playing 180 NCAA games and finishing with 238 points. She would be named a NCAA First Team All-American in 2020/21 and again in 2022/23. In 2022/23 she would be named a NCAA Top Female Collegiate Player (Patty Kazmaier Award) Finalist while capturing a World Championship Silver Medal with Team Canada. This season, she would score the overtime winner as Team Canada captured gold at the World Championships.

Markowski recorded 58 points in 45 CSSHL games with POE. The Edmonton, AB defenseman won a gold with Team Canada at the 2019 World Junior Ice Hockey Championships before heading to the NCAA with Clarkson University. In 134 games with Clarkson she would record 65 points. In 2023/24 she would join Ohio State University, finishing with 27 points in 39 games.

In 2016/17 Greig tallied 25 points in 19 games. She would add 125 points in 46 games over the next two seasons, giving her a Female U18 Prep CSSHL record 150 career points. She would spend two seasons at the University of Wisconsin before transferring to Colgate University for three season. In 175 NCAA games Greig totalled 132 points, winning an NCAA Championship in 2020/21.