Bourget College BWC Academy CIH Academy CDA Hockey Academy Delta Hockey Academy Edge School International Hockey Academy King Heights Academy Mount Academy NAX Hockey North Shore Warriors Notre Dame Hounds Hockey Okanagan Hockey Academy OHA Edmonton Okanagan Hockey Ontario Ontario Hockey Academy Pacific Coast Hockey Academy Pilot Mound Hockey Academy Prairie Hockey Academy Rink Hockey Academy Kelowna Rink Hockey Academy Winnipeg Shawnigan Lake School South Alberta Hockey Academy St. George's School Flames St. Mary's Academy Yale Hockey Academy

21 CSSHL Alumni Selected at 2022 NHL Entry Draft

21 Canadian Sport School Hockey League (CSSHL) alumni were selected at the 2022 NHL Entry Draft, 2 shy of the CSSHL record set in 2021.

Among the 21 alumni selected, 3 were picked in the first round. 18 CSSHL alumni had previously been selected in the first round, with a record 5 of those coming in 2021. The CSSHL has now seen 102 alumni selected in the NHL Entry Draft since 2012.

2019 Western Hockey League (WHL) first overall pick Matthew Savoie was selected ninth overall by the Buffalo Sabres, the eighth ever CSSHL alumni selected inside the Top 10. The Pittsburg Penguins selected Owen Pickering 21st overall, while Reid Schaefer rounded out round 1, going 32nd overall to his hometown Edmonton Oilers.

With a total of 225 players picked, CSSHL alumni made up more than 9% of the players drafted. 89 Canadian born players were selected with 24% of those players having played in the CSSHL.

Five NHL teams; Buffalo Sabres, Minnesota, New Jersey Devils, San Jose Sharks and the Toronto Maple Leafs all selected multiple former CSSHL student-athletes. Overall, 16 NHL teams selected CSSHL alumni.

The Wild were the first ever team to select a player with CSSHL roots when they drafted Matt Dumba seventh overall in the 2012 NHL Entry Draft.

11 different CSSHL teams saw a former player selected in this year’s draft: BWC Academy, Edge School, Northern Alberta Xtreme (NAX), Notre Dame Hounds, Okanagan Hockey Academy (OHA), OHA Edmonton, Pacific Coast Hockey Academy (PCHA), RINK Hockey Academy Kelowna (RHA Kelowna)/Pursuit of Excellence (POE), RINK Hockey Academy Winnipeg (RHA Winnipeg), West Van Academy, and Yale Hockey Academy.

Congratulations to the following players selected in the 2022 NHL Entry Draft:

RoundPickNamePOSNHL TeamCSSHL Team
19Matthew SavoieFBuffalo SabresNAX/RHA Winnipeg
121Owen PickeringDPittsburgh PenguinsRHA Winnipeg
132Reid SchaeferFEdmonton OilersOHA Edmonton
238Fraser MintenFToronto Maple LeafsWest Van Academy
256Rieger LorenzFMinnesota WildEdge School
389Michael MilneFMinnesota WildYale Hockey Academy
4102Tyler BrennanGNew Jersey DevilsRHA Winnipeg
4106Mats LindgrenDBuffalo SabresBWC Academy
4107Ben KingFAnaheim DucksPOE
4108Mason BeaupitGSan Jose SharksOHA
4112Daimon GardnerFVancouver CanucksRHA Winnipeg
5146Graham SwardDNashville PredatorsYale Hockey Academy
5155Parker BellFCalgary FlamesYale Hockey Academy
6166Josh FilmonFNew Jersey DevilsRHA Winnipeg
6177Ben HemmerlingFVegas Golden KnightsNAX
6179Matthew SeminoffFDallas StarsBWC Academy
6181Ryan HoferFWashington CapitalsPOE
6186Josh DaviesFFlorida PanthersEdge School/PCHA
7195Eli BarnettDSan Jose SharksNotre Dame
7206Tyson DyckFOttawa SenatorsBWC Academy
7218Brandon LisowskyFToronto Maple LeafsBWC Academy