Rosters for WHL Cup Announced

36 current and 3 former Canadian Sport School Hockey League (CSSHL) student-athletes have been named to their respective provinces Male U16 Team that will compete at the Western Hockey League (WHL) Cup in Red Deer, AB from October 20-24, 2021.

The 2021 WHL Cup will feature the top 2006-born players from British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba, each of whom is eligible for the 2021 WHL Prospects Draft. The 2021 WHL Prospects Draft is scheduled to be conducted online on Thursday, December 9.

All but one player on the Team BC Roster plays, or has played, in the CSSHL

  • Diego Buttazoni BWC Academy
  • EJ Emery Yale Hockey Academy
  • Evan Gardner RINK Hockey Academy Kelowna
  • Jordan Gavin Delta Hockey Academy
  • Hiroki Gojsic St. Georges School
  • Gabriel Guibault BWC Academy
  • Tij Iginla RINK Hockey Academy Kelowna
  • Dryden Kuramoto BWC Academy
  • Matt Lahey Pacific Coast Hockey Academy
  • Lynden Lakovic West Van Academy
  • Cayden Lindstrom Delta Hockey Academy
  • Miguel Marques Delta Hockey Academy
  • William McIsaac St. Georges School
  • Tomas Mrsic Delta Hockey Academy
  • Jesse Sanche Okanagan Hockey Academy
  • Cameron Sytsma BWC Academy
  • Seth Tansem RINK Hockey Academy Kelowna
  • Chase Valliant Yale Hockey Academy
  • Carson Wetsch BWC Academy

The 13 CSSHL student-athletes represent more than half of the 20-man Team Alberta roster:

  • Hyde Davidson Northern Alberta Xtreme
  • Tristen Doyle Northern Alberta Xtreme
  • Charlie Elick Edge School
  • Gavin Garland Delta Hockey Academy
  • Caleb Hadland Yale Hockey Academy
  • Otto Hanson Edge School
  • Kayden Longley Northern Alberta Xtreme
  • Keith McInnis Yale Hockey Academy
  • Coy Pighin Yale Hockey Academy
  • Zane Saab OHA Edmonton
  • Brock Souch Northern Alberta Xtreme
  • Garrett Thom OHA Edmonton
  • Reid Varkonyi Northern Alberta Xtreme

OHA Edmonton U18 Prep head coach Serge Lajoie had previously been named head coach of Team Alberta, while Edge U18 Prep head coach James Poole will join the staff as video coach.

Five current and two former CSSHL student-athletes will compete for Team Manitoba:

  • Merrek Arpin RINK Hockey Academy Winnipeg
  • Cole Cairns RINK Hockey Academy Winnipeg
  • Clarke Caswell RINK Hockey Academy Kelowna
  • Gavin Hodnett RINK Hockey Academy Winnipeg
  • Jackson Kostiuk RINK Hockey Academy Winnipeg
  • Ethan McCallum Notre Dame Hounds
  • Carson White RINK Hockey Academy Winnipeg