Ergang, Rasmussen Win AJHL Top Forward Awards

Two Canadian Sports School Hockey League (CSSHL) alumni have been named as their Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL) 2020-21 Top Forward Award Winner.

Kaleb Ergang (Whitecourt Wolverines) and Kash Rasmussen (Bonnyville Pontiacs) have been named their teams Top Forward for the COVID shortened season.

Ergang, who is committed to Ferris State University for the 2021/22 season, spent two years in the CSSHL with the Northern Alberta Xtreme (NAX). In 2015/16 he won a CSSHL U16 Prep League Championship and recorded 23 points in 31 games. The following season he would see his offensive production spike, with 43 points in 28 games. He would make the jump to junior the next season, spending two years with the Okotoks Oilers, before eventually moving on to the Wolverines. This season Ergang finished with 7 points in 12 games, bringing his AJHL totals to 115 points in 165 games.

A fifth-round pick by the Tri-City Americans in the 2016 WHL Entry Draft, Rasmussen spent three seasons with Edge School, winning a U18 Prep CSSHL League Championship in 2016/17. In 69 CSSHL regular season games split between the U15 Prep and U18 Prep levels, Rasmussen had 91 points. He has suited up for the Pontiacs for the last four seasons, recording 53 points in 103 games, including 14 points in 10 games during the 2020/21 campaign.