Bourget College BWC Academy CIH Academy CDA Hockey Academy Delta Hockey Academy Edge School International Hockey Academy King Heights Academy Mount Academy NAX Hockey North Shore Warriors Notre Dame Hounds Hockey Okanagan Hockey Academy OHA Edmonton Okanagan Hockey Ontario Ontario Hockey Academy Pacific Coast Hockey Academy Pilot Mound Hockey Academy Prairie Hockey Academy Rink Hockey Academy Kelowna Rink Hockey Academy Winnipeg Shawnigan Lake School South Alberta Hockey Academy St. George's School Flames St. Mary's Academy Yale Hockey Academy

Big Monday for current and former CSSHL student athletes

It was a big day for current and former Canadian Sport School Hockey League student athletes on Monday.

Kubota CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game

The Canadian Hockey League, in association with National Hockey League Central Scouting, announced the 40 players invited to compete in the 2020 Kubota CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game.

A total of 13 players from the Western Hockey League were invited, with seven of them former CSSHL student athletes. Goaltenders Dylan Garand (Delta Hockey Academy) and Brock Gould (Rink Hockey Academy), were joined by defenceman Kaiden Guhle (OHA Edmonton) and forwards Jack Finley (Pursuit of Excellence), Seth Jarvis (Rink Hockey Academy), Jake Neighbours (Pursuit of Excellence) and Justin Sourdif (Delta Hockey Academy).

The game will take place on Thursday, January 16, 2020 in Hamilton, Ontario.

CJHL Prospects Game

The Canadian Junior Hockey League, in partnership with the National Hockey League and Hockey Canada, as well as in conjunction with NHL Central Scouting, announced Monday the playing rosters for its 15th annual CJHL Prospects Game, which will be held on Tuesday, January 14, 2020 in Hamilton, Ont.

Exactly half of the 20-player Team West roster is made up of former CSSHL student athletes. Defencemen Michael Benning (Northern Alberta Xtreme), Kabore Dunn (Shawnigan Lake School), Ethan Edwards (Northern Alberta Xtreme), Ryan Helliwell (BWC Academy) and Trey Taylor (Delta Hockey Academy) will join forwards Ethan Bowen (Yale Hockey Academy), Stanley Cooley (Notre Dame Hounds), Carter Loney (Rink Hockey Academy), Carter Savoie (Northern Alberta Xtreme) and Luc Wilson (Shawnigan Lake School).

2020 Winter Youth Olympics Games

It wasn’t just CSSHL alumni in the spotlight on Monday as three current student athletes were named to Team Canada ahead of the 2020 Winter Youth Olympics Games, which will be held January 9-22 in Lausanne, Switzerland.

Northern Alberta Xtreme student athlete Nate Danielson, BWC Academy student athlete Mats Lindgren and Rink Hockey Academy student athlete Matt Savoie were all named to the team.

Canada won silver at the 2016 Winter Youth Olympic Games with CSSHL alums Tristen Nielsen (Edge School) and Ty Smith (Delta Hockey Academy) on the team.

At the 2012 Winter Youth Olympic Games, Team Canada featured CSSHL alums Ryan Gropp (Okanagan Hockey Academy) and Joe Hicketts (Okanagan Hockey Academy).

Players of the Week

Former Yale Hockey Academy student athlete Blake Wood was named the BCHL’s Player of the Week. Fellow CSSHL alums Tanner Marshall (Pursuit of Excellence), Ethan O’Rourke (Okanagan Hockey Academy), Akito Hirose (Edge School) and Kent Johnson (Trail Smoke Eaters) were all honourable mentions.

Another former Yale Hockey Academy student athlete, Scout Truman, was named the AJHL’s Player of the Week, while former OHA Edmonton netminder Easton Hesse was named the AJHL’s Defensive Player of the Week.

Former West Van Academy student athlete Xavier Cannon was named the SJHL’s Goaltender of the Week.